Tags

, , , , , , ,

I want to talk about solidarity. I want to talk about crazy people making crazy jokes. I want to talk about *bragging about mental illness* and renouncing shame and omg I’m on more pills than you. I want to talk about bragging about mental illness and bragging about bad grades and bragging about detentions and how a kid can study like fucking hell and then brag about their D when they get it, I want to talk about how it makes these things less awkward, I want to talk about how the default is shame and shame is useless and sometimes you have to choose between seeming ashamed or defensive or like you are bragging because the world won’t let you be neutral, I want to talk about how bragging about mental illness is reclaiming shame, reclaiming the thing in your brain, reclaiming silence, reclaiming sickness from everyone who said you were worthless and crazy and broken and in need of rescuing, I want to talk about me and my friend in the special school talking about how we were glad we were crazy, I want to talk about *bragging about mental illness* and how I am so fucking proud that I exist as a mentally ill person when the world wants me not to, we get bragging rights, I want to talk about *bragging about mental illness*  and how I could never say those words with disgust.

