Tags

, , , ,

“You don’t look disabled.” they say, and yes I do, yes I do, this is what a disabled person looks like, but, “You don’t look disabled.” and they say it like a compliment and I wonder what they think looking disabled means.
“You don’t look disabled.” they say, and I know they will sniff their disapproval when I ask for accommodations. “You don’t look disabled.” as if a person who has been around a disabled person for exactly three seconds, knows more than me about whether I am disabled and what looking disabled is.
“You don’t look disabled.” they say, because they aren’t looking. “You don’t look disabled.” because they can’t see how smart or creative or human and disabled can exist in the same person. “You don’t look disabled.” and I wonder what they would do to me if I did.
“You don’t look disabled.” they say, and it is a threat.

